Layton City Designated as Development Ready Community

The Economic Development Corporation of Utah (EDCUtah) recently announced Layton City as one of seven communities to earn its Development Ready Community (DRC) Certification. EDCUtah selected the following Utah communities for this notable designation: Cache County, Layton City, Ogden City, Spanish Fork City, Tooele City, Salt Lake County, and Washington City.

The DRC initiative provides communities with data, research, marketing and strategic planning tools to enable a more proactive business development strategic planning process. This effort helps foster business retention, job growth, wage growth and capital investment in Utah communities.

The DRC certification process includes a five-stage effort designed to help foster the expansion of local businesses and attract and grow competitive, high-value companies to Layton. Layton City staff engaged with EDCUtah’s Community Strategy team to work through five stages of economic development preparedness. These included: Community Assessment, Planning, Community Marketing, Training and Preparation, and EDCUtah Integration and Support.

By the end of the DRC program, Layton City gained an in-depth understanding of its competitive advantages, a strategic plan to improve economic development efforts, marketing materials, economic development training, and a seat at the state’s economic development table. Most importantly, Layton City is now better prepared to assist and inform existing and potential employers considering expansion in Layton.

EDCUtah plans to recognize the certifications by presenting them at their Holiday Open House on December 14, 2021.